Configuration updates and data changes by the back-office
Planon uses the 'mobile envelopes' feature to send any back-office updates.
Thanks to the mobile envelopes feature, you do not have to worry about data synchronization, nor about data loss when you work offline.
However, the back-office might change the app configuration or update data for work assignments that are already open on your device. When this occurs, the app can respond in one of two ways:
1. Configuration changes: this will affect your work, since the displayed layout of the work assignment is suddenly out of date. Think of these types of changes:
◦ changing a setting on the sub webdefinition
◦ adding or deleting fields to / from an app page;
◦ updating configured data in the webdefinition.
In those cases, the envelopes of 'opened' work assignments will be blocked. On the overview page, these work assignments are marked orange and the information is grayed out.
The work assignment cannot be accessed until you refresh the overview page:

2. Data changes: if the back-office updates the data of a work assignment (this also includes records of related business objects, such as the Order, Order lines, Labor hours etc.), it will affect the data on your mobile device. The type of data determines how urgent refreshing a page is. Think of these types of changes:
◦ adding / deleting / updating data in low impact fields such as Description, Comment, Communication log fields;
◦ adding / deleting / updating data in high impact fields, such as Asset, Space, Property or Customer.
The system will:
• update the changed record(s) instantly on your device (only for low impact changes);
| If you are on a page where such a change is being processed, you will only see the update after you leave the page and return. |
• show you a 'toast' message if you have opened the work assignment or are already actively working on it;
• show a blue indicator on the overview page. Some data is outdated for that particular work assignment.
On the Summary page you are prompted to refresh the page, which you can do when convenient. You will not be blocked.
| If you make changes on your device while the back-office is simultaneously changing the same data, your changes are given preference. |